So near yet so far

This  is the title of the song written by  Cole Porter, for the 1941 film You’ll Never Get Rich.  ‘Twas a  Hollywood musical comedy film with a wartime theme. The plot is sort of comedy of romance. Here’s the lyric:

My dear, I’ve a feeling you are 
So near and yet so far
You appear like a radiant star
First so near then again so far

I just start getting you keen
On clinches galore with me
When fate steps in on the scene
And mops up the floor with me
No wonder I’m a bit under par
For you’re so near and yet so far

My condition is only so-so
‘Cause whenever I feel you’re close, oh
You turn out to be, oh, so far

Taken from: severallyalone.blogspot.com

I just start getting you keen
On clinches galore with me
When fate steps in on the scene
And mops up the floor with me
No wonder I’m a bit under par
For you’re so near and yet so far

My condition is only so-so
‘Cause whenever I feel you’re close, oh
You turn out to be, oh, so far

I can relate to the song as I think of our relationship. Just when I thought you were closer to me, you tried to keep your distance. Like a lovely bird, you charmed me with your tweets. Yet left me alone when I was about  to move closer to you.

But isn’t this one trait  I like  in you? Your puzzling mysterious ways  attract me the more and/or, maybe, no end, at all. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

